Places to Visit in the Forest of Dean


West Forest Area

Clearwell Caves

See this unique part of Britain's Heritage hidden beneath the Royal Forest of Dean.

Iron ore has been mined here for nearly 3000 years to form an incredible system of underground tunnels and chambers, of which 8 large caverns are now open to the public.

Originally a natural cave system, it partially filled with iron ore, which has been mined extensively since the beginning of the iron age. Geological and mining displays show how the primitive miners worked and the slow development of mining techniques up to the present day.  The engine room contains several vintage engines, including the 1915 Ingersol Rand compressor used to drive the early pneumatic drills. The miners stores stocks not only souvenirs of your visit, but books and maps relating to mining, geology and local history.  We have a good selection of minerals from the mine and other parts of the world, as well as caving equipment.

Open 10am to 5pm every day, including Sundays and Bank Holidays.
1st March to 31st October

Caving trips and guided tours available throughout the year by appointment.

For further information tel. 01594-832535

[ Clearwell Village Page ]


Puzzle Wood

Puzzle Wood is an area which has remained unaltered since it was transformed into tranquil woodland walks in the 1800's. It has been open to the public for some 50 years.

A fascinating open iron workings in beautiful surroundings.
A maze of paths with unique wooden seats and bridges enables the weathered and moss covered rocks to be seen at their best.

Roman iron mines, Souvenir Shop, Tea garden, Sykes Trophy winner 1984
School parties catered for by prior arrangement

1 mile south of Coleford on the B4228

Open 11am to 6pm (Easter to the end of October)
Closed Mondays except Bank Holidays
No pets

Tel: 01594-833187


Goodrich Castle

Standing on a hill overlooking the village whose name it bears, the castle guards the river crossing on the old Roman road from Monmouth to Gloucester. Built by the Normans, it was heavily improved in the 13th century.  The keep, a sqaure three storey tower, is still there and the whole castle is surrounded by a deep ditch dug into the local red sandstone and reached over a drawbridge.

Various summer special medieval events.


Kingfisher Cruises

From Symonds Yat East, daily.

Symonds Yat is world famous for its natural river scenery. The river winds its way through Symonds Yat gorge and village, dividing it into east and west. Our trips which last around 35 minutes start at 11am and go on until sunset. A full commentary is provided, telling of the natural beauty and history of he area. Evening trips with bar and buffet parties by arrangement.

Telephone Ros or Gerald on 0831 297672 or 01600 891063

[ Symonds Yat ]

Symonds Yat and the Wye Valley

Symonds Yat Rock is well known for it's magnificent viewpoint which overlooks  the beautiful scenery  of the Wye valley as the river twists through the gorge.  Symonds Yat rock is situated in a heavily wooded limestone outcrop with cliffs 120 metres high.  

Symonds Yat is popular all year round with different attractions in all of the seasons.  At the bottom of the valley there are a range of visitor attractions including a man-powered rope ferry over the river Wye, the maze and the Heritage Centre nearby on the downward hillside. There is a visitor centre at the top of the hill beside the viewpoint.

 More on Symonds Yat & Wye Valley

Perrygrove Railway

Coleford, Glos GL16 8QB
Tel/Fax: 01594 834991

Narow gauge steam in the Forest of Dean.
Unlimited trips, woodland walks, and for the children Treasure hunt in the woods and indoor village with secret passages.

Easy to find on B4228, half a mile south of Coleford

See the What's On Pages for Steam Days


Hopewell Colliery Museum

Cannop Hill, Coleford.
B4226 Coleford to Speech House Road

Walk through a true Forest of Dean Freemine.
See mine workings, some date to 1820's. See the old mine working tools on diplay and visit the cafe.

Open March to October daily 10am to 4pm
Admission: Adults £3, Child £2.
Phone 01594 810706 (Museum)
01594 832216 (home)

[ Forest Freeminers ]


Web Page Design by Forest Web
Copyright ©1999 Forest Web