There are many opportunities to discover the Forest on foot near to the Heritage Centre. The Soudley Valley, where the museum is situated, contains much evidence of an industrious past.
Just up from the museum, opposite Soudley Ponds, can be seen the old railway line which connected the main line at Bullo Pill near Newnham to Cinderford. The old Crossing-Keeper's house can still be seen and, beyond it, the entrance to the Haie Tunnel: the longest railway tunnel in the world when it was built in 1809.
Under the trees of Bradley Hill, behind the museum and Foundry Wood. opposite the museum, evidence of quarrying, forestry and charcoal-making can be discovered. Directions to the woods are available from the museum, and walk leaflets are available.
| Soudley Ponds Walk |
Bradley Hill Walk |
[ Home page ]
Page Design by Forest
Copyright ©1999 Forest Web