Cleeve Orchard Cider..
Artisan maker of Little Owl cider from the last orchard in Ross on Wye
Gallery 54 - Ross on..
Contemporary abstract art, ceramics and glassware
Coleford is a thriving community and the administrative centre of the Forest of Dean. Coleford has a rich history, first recorded as Colevorde in 1275 when it was in part of the Royal hunting forest. It is well worth spending time looking around Coleford at its historical buildings, and taking the "Coleford Town Walk". It was here in in Coleford in the 1800's that Robert Mushet invented the process of making steel, and developed the first self-hardening tool steel.
Coleford Town Walks
Coleford has established a series of Town Walks, each including places of interest and illustrating the history of Coleford.
ShopsColeford has several supermarkets, and many smaller family-owned shops catering for all needs.
St. John's, Church of England. St. John's Church was built in 1880, designed by S. Gambier-Parry, to replace the older original church in the market place (of which only the tower now remains).
The Baptists first began worship in the town in 1805, and the present church was built in 1858, and extended in 1889 to include school rooms.
SchoolsRoyal Forest of Dean College (Tertiary and adult education)
Lakers School (Secondary School)
St. John's Church of England Primary School (phone: 01594 832046)
Dean Hall School
The Rose Day Nursery - Market Place, Coleford GL16 8AJ Deprecated: mysql_escape_string(): This function is deprecated; use mysql_real_escape_string() instead. in /var/www/vhosts/fweb.org.uk/httpdocs/classes_system/generaldata.class.inc on line 613
Nearby AccommodationDeprecated: mysql_escape_string(): This function is deprecated; use mysql_real_escape_string() instead. in /var/www/vhosts/fweb.org.uk/httpdocs/classes_system/generaldata.class.inc on line 613